Shortlist for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize announced

It's the 15th year of the Waterstone's Book Prize and, as usual, it's the firm's booksellers who have chosen the books on the prize shortlist. The three categories include illustrated books, younger fiction and older fiction. The prize has a great record for cementing established reputations, and has also been an amazing launchpad for first-time writers. Past winners have included Katherine Rundell and Johnny Duddle, and last year's winner was Angie Thomas whose modern classic for teenagers, 'The Hate U Give', stormed to victory. The book went on to sell 850,000 copies worldwide by June 2018, and spent 50 weeks at the top of the New York Times' best-seller list. Follow the link to see the full list - final winners will be announced on 21st March 2019:

Click here to read our blog

Keep up with what's going on at Schoolreaders and in the wider world of literacy!


Click here to find out more about how our site works and how we put you in control.

Click here to view our terms and conditions of website usage.

Registered Charity Number: 1159157
Registered Office: 6 Trull Farm Buildings, Tetbury, Gloucestershire, GL8 8SQ


Bedford Heights

Brickhill Drive


MK41 7PH


01234 924111

Copyright © 2020 All content on this website is the property of Schoolreaders and may not be reproduced without permission